Bit of Spit and Polish

One thing that I’ve been very pleased with is the quality of the paint job on the Curve D3. For some the bright red might be a tad flashy but I like it. If red just ain’t your colour then it’s also available (at the time of writing) in white, which is quite fetching too, or pink. Never actually seen it in pink, so I can’t really pass comment there.

Back to my red Curve. It’s done over two thousand miles in eighteen months, it’s visited three countries, it’s been lumped around for most days since purchase, folded, unfolded, on and off trains, been in the boot of cars and company shuttle busses and slept in various hotels. So it’s had quite a good working life. But in all that time the paintjob still looks rather fetching. A bit of spit and polish here and there, a bit of elbow grease and the bike is handsome, it has to be said.

Of course it’s had one or two knocks, of which the most sickening was dropping my bunch of keys on the rear “forks”, chipping some paintwork off. But the little pot of paint supplied with the bike covers up the damage, although a shade darker than the original red.

Each time I visit the Belgian office, one of my colleagues invariably says “Ah, you have changed your bicycle” to which the reply is “No, same one”.  Cue surprise. Besides it’s normal to look after your bike – after all it did cost a lot of money (relatively – could have been worse).

A closer look at the paintjob on the Curve.

 

About dahondude

Proud owner of a Dahon Curve D3 that is used to commute to work both in France and in Belgium as well as for trips to the UK
This entry was posted in Commuting, Me myself and I, Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment